Sally Sore Loser

November 21, 2016

by Frank J. Sileo

Click for more information on this title

Catalog blurb: After having her classmates walk away from her during a soccer game at recess because she hogs the ball, is bossy, and cares only about winning, Sally gets some good advice from her teacher and her mother. Includes note to parents.

Have someone in your class that could use a little social skills learning?  This book shows how Sally’s attitude causes others not to want to play with her at recess and how Sally feels afterwards.  It is a great social story to learn how to win and lose gracefully.


The Magic Word

November 18, 2016

by Mac Barnett

Click for more information on this title

You can have ANYTHING in the world only if you say the MAGIC WORD.  No, the magic word is not PLEASE in this instance…it is Alakazoomba.  Just like magic, your wish comes true.  But, you have to know when to use your talent or things could go terribly wrong!

This book has a slight nod to Jumanji by Chris VanAllsburg in that the impossible happens in an otherwise normal situation.

Use this book as a great read aloud when reminding your students about their P’s and Q’s.


Coming Soon! Scholastic Branches Transitional Chapter Books

March 16, 2016

I am just too excited about these titles that I am doing a blog post before they even arrive.

Motivating, Easy-To-Read Chapter Books: BRANCHES

In the recent past, Scholastic has created a part of their company dedicated to the transitional chapter book.  This part of their company is called Branches. Branches chapter books bridge the gap between early readers and beginning chapter books. Scholastic also provides a Teacher’s Classroom Guide for ideas on how to incorporate these books into your instruction.

These transitional chapter books have

  • Easy-to-read text
  • Simple plotlines
  • Plenty of context clues
  • Purposeful illustrations that aid reading comprehension

I am happy to announce that we had a successful book fair this spring, and with those profits I was able to purchase the following Branches chapter books:

  • Continuing the series of Notebook of Doom
    Alexander Bopp has just moved to a new town where he uncovers all sorts of monsters!
  • Continuing the series of Princess Pink and the Fake Believe
    Fairy tales go hilariously off course as Princess Pink meets wacky characters in the land of Fake-Believe!

  • Continuing the series of Owl Diaries
    Eva Wingdale’s (the main character owl) life is a HOOT; follow her fun adventures in her diaries.
  • New to the library: Kung Pow Chicken series
    Gordon Blue was an ordinary second grader — until he became the superhero known as Kung Pow Chicken! Now he battles bad guys all over town!
  • New to the library: Dragon Masters series
    Drake never thought dragons were real—until he was chosen to train his very own dragon!
  • New to the library: Eerie Elementary
    Sam’s school is alive… and it is hungry for students! Can he and his friends save the day?

  • Hopefully coming soon: Looniverse series
    A magical coin makes Ed’s universe go more than a little loony in this edge-of-your-seat series.

These titles are all on order right now and should be arriving in the library within two weeks.  I will quickly get barcodes on them and put them in the library catalog so our transitional readers have even more resources to be successful readers this spring!


Kate & Pippin: An Unlikely Friendship

January 22, 2016

Kate & Pippin: An Unlikely Friendship

by Martin Springett

For readers who enjoyed Little Pink Pup or Owen and Mzee, Kate & Pippin are yet another great unlikely pair who form a very special bond.  Animal lovers are sure to enjoy this tender story of a dog helping to raise an abandoned fawn.

Book blurb from the catalog: Photographs and simple text reveal the true story of a fawn which, abandoned by her mother and brought to live on a farm, is raised by Kate, a Great Dane which has never had puppies of her own.


I Will Take a Nap!

January 22, 2016

I Will Take a Nap!

the newest edition to the Elephant and Piggie series

by Mo Willems

Product Details

This latest edition to the Elephant and Piggie series will not disappoint Mo Willems’ fans!


Ballet Cat: The Totally Secret Secret

January 22, 2016

The Totally Secret Secret

by Bob Shea

Are your students fans of Elephant and Piggie books by Mo Willems?  I have a new author and series for you to recommend to them!  Bob Shea is starting a new series called the Ballet Cat.  It is written in the same comical tone with short sentences spoken in dialogue by the two characters.

So cute and so funny! Check it out!


Pete the Cat and the Bedtime Blues

December 21, 2015

Pete the Cat and the Bedtime Blues

by Kimberly and James Dean

The latest in the Pete the Cat series.

Book blurb: When Pete the Cat spends the day with his friends at the beach, he doesn’t want the day to end so he invites them all over for a sleepover. But when Pete is ready to sleep, he finds his friends have other ideas. He comes up with a plan to help his friends finally settle down and go to sleep.